What happened when thanos snapped his finger?

When Thanos snapped his fingers with the use of the completed infinity gauntlet, one half of the universe’s population was removed from existence and turned to dust. The reasoning behind this was to preserve resources for the remaining half. Thanos believed this was a benevolent act.