What causes a star to fall?

A shooting star is not actually a star, but a meteorite falling to earth. It's brightness is due to the heat created as it flies through the atmosphere at high speeds.

---

A "falling star" or a "shooting star" has nothing at all to do with a star! These amazing streaks of light you can sometimes see in the night sky are caused by tiny bits of dust and rock called meteoroids falling into the Earth's atmosphere and burning up.