What is ghostbusters?

Ghostbusters is a successful movie franchise consisting of 4 movies. The original 1984 movie starred Bill Murray, Dan Akroyd, Harold Ramis and Ernie Hudson. IMDB describes the movie as Three parapsychologists forced out of their university funding to set up shop as a unique ghost removal service.