Where did amelia earhart get lost?

On July 2, 1937, the Lockheed aircraft carrying American aviator Amelia Earhart and navigator Frederick Noonan is reported missing near Howland Island in the Pacific Ocean. No trace of Earhart or Noonan was ever found