Where does the name fin come from?

Fin is a variant form of Fingal (Scottish, Gaelic): anglicized version of Fionnghall. Fin is also a derivative of Finn (Irish, Gaelic, Old German). Fun is also a nickname for the traditional Greek name of Phineas.