What's the difference between champagne and white wine?

White wine is wine made from white, otherwise known as green, grapes. Champagne is a usually white, but sometimes pink, wine with effervescent bubbles. Champagne is actually only supposed to be used for sparkling white wine that comes from the Champagne region of France.