What's in infrared?

Infrared, or IR, is one of the millions of "wavelengths" of the electromagnetic light spectrum. It is emitted from all atoms in the universe that are jiggling and moving fast. Our skin can detect it as heat. Our eyes cannot see Infrared but some snakes can detect IR with their tongue.