How acidic is battery acid?

Typically referring to the type of acid used in rechargeable lead-acid batteries, like the ones used in cars, battery acid is made of sulphuric acid (H2SO4) that has been diluted with purified water to a concentration of around 30-50%. In this context, battery acid has an acidic pH of 0.8.

---

Acid in a 12 volt car battery typically ranges from 15% to 35% in strength. It can however, be as high as 50%. In any concentration, it is highly corrosive.