What spiders eat birds?

The Goliath bird-eating tarantula is the largest spider in the world, with a leg span of up to 12 inches and weight over a third of a pound. It does its hunting on the forest floor where it's more likely to catch mouse or lizard than a bird. But it's known to crawl into bird nests and eat the eggs.