How do you get to the nether in minecraft?

To go to the nether in Minecraft, you would need at most 14 obsidian blocks to create a frame 4 blocks wide and 5 blocks tall. Then you light the middle with flint and steel until it glows purple and stand in the middle to be transported to the nether.