What is the flavor red velvet?

Red velvet cakes are chocolate flavoured. While both red velvet and chocolate cakes contain cocoa, chocolate cake is lacking buttermilk and vinegar combination that is important to red velvet. The two cakes have a similar cocoa taste, but red velvet is much more fine and rich than chocolate.

---

Red Velvet is sometimes described as a chocolate flavor because it does contain cocoa powder. The cocoa is only one of the ingredients that gives the cake it's distinct flavor with others being buttermilk and vinegar. The traditional cream cheese frosting also gives the cake flavor as well.