What is the flavor red velvet?

Red Velvet is sometimes described as a chocolate flavor because it does contain cocoa powder. The cocoa is only one of the ingredients that gives the cake it's distinct flavor with others being buttermilk and vinegar. The traditional cream cheese frosting also gives the cake flavor as well.