What is the difference between seeding and overseeding?

Seeding is when a homogeneous seed mixture is spread on your lawn. Overseeding is introducing new types of grass seed to the existing turf with other grass strains, usually in the fall. This is usually done to fill in bare spots and thereby prevent the introduction of weeds, disease, etc.

---

Seeding grass is to establish a new lawn. Overseeding is spreading grass seed over an existing lawn, to improve it.