What does speck mean?

A speck is a very small mark, piece, or amount

---

Speck is smoked or pickled pork belly. In Germany, speck is pork fat with or without some meat in it. In Italy, Turkey and parts of the English-speaking culinary world, "speck" refers to South Tyrolean speck, a type of smoked prosciutto, rather than German speck.