What does extension ism mean?

Basic Extensionism, according to Wikipedia, holds that all objects and events extend indefinitely through time and space. Ethical or Moral Extensionism, according to Wikipedia, is a view in environmental ethics that moral standing ought to be extended to things (animals, plants, the earth).