How many muscles are in the heart?

The heart is broadly one single muscle but is made up of three muscle types, the inner endocardium, the middle myocardium and the outer epicardium

---

The heart is one muscle composed of cardiac muscle tissue. There are three layers: endocardium, epicardium and pericardium.