Are there grizzly bears in california?

The California grizzly bear is an extinct subspecies of the grizzly bear. At one time there were over 10,000 grizzly bears in California, but people's fear of the enormous animal drove the bears to extinction. The last California grizzly bear was shot in Tulare County in 1924.