What does m. e. l. e. mean?

I'm not sure whether you meant to end with one E or two. A "mele," spelled M-E-L-E, is a Hawaiian chant, song, or poem. A melee, spelled M-E-L-E- E, is a disorganized fight at close quarters, though sometimes the word is used to describe hand-to-hand or weapons combat as opposed to ranged combat.

---

mixed