How many days are in a moon cycle?

Our moon, Luna, takes approximately 29 and a half days to complete a full cycle. It technically takes 27.3 days to orbit the planet, plus an additional 2.2 days to catch up to the Earth, as the Earth has traveled 45 million miles in the time it takes the moon to fully orbit.