What is fine salt?

Table salt is also called fine salt, as it is ground down to a smaller grain size than say, sea salt or kosher salt.

---

The word fine means very small particles. The main difference between coarse salt and fine table salt lies in their texture. Table salt is fine, smooth and is composed of minute granules. Whereas, coarse salt consists of large, crystalline grains, hence it is also called rock salt.