How many candles are there in kwanzaa?

Seven. They represent the seven principles of Kwanzaa; Umoja (unity), Kujichagulia (self-determination), Ujima (collective responsibility), Ujamaa (cooperative economics), Nia (purpose), Kuumba (creativity), and Imani (faith).

---

There is one black candle, three red and three green candles. These are the mishumaa saba (the seven candles) and they represent the seven principles