What's the switzerland stockpiles story?

Switzerland stockpiles staples, such as sugar, rice, edible oils and animal feed. This system of emergency reserves was established in case of potential shortages caused by war, natural disaster or epidemics. Coffee was one of these emergency staples but was removed as non essential.