What's the formula for gasoline?

Gasoline is a mixture of various small hydrocarbons and cannot be described with a single chemical formula. However, when measuring octane rating, it is compared to a reference mixture of octane and heptane, which have chemical formulas of C 8 H 18 and C 7 H 16 respectively.