What does pineapple grow on?

Contrary to what some people think, pineapples don't grow on trees — they grow out of the ground, from a leafy plant. The plant consists of stocky leaves whorled around a central stem. In a healthy pineapple plant, the tapered, swordlike leaves can grow up to about 5 feet (1.5 meters) long.