Can humans breathe on mars?

The Martian atmosphere is toxic, 95% carbon dioxide, 3% nitrogen, 1.6% argon, and traces of other gases including oxygen totaling less than 0.4%. In these conditions humans die within minutes unless a pressure suit provides life support.

---

By comparison, Mars' atmosphere is 95 percent carbon dioxide. "We need to breathe oxygen," said Lee. "There's no free oxygen in the Martian atmosphere. You cannot breathe this gas