What happened to the people of pompeii?

The people of Pompeii died during the first century after the eruption of Mount Vesuvius in 79 AD. Depending on their location, the causes of death likely ranged from respiratory, physical or thermal injuries from the ejected stone or lava. Escape was impossible for most.