What are m. and m. 's?

M&M are small chocolate candies that are covered with a hard candy shell. They come in a variety of colors and can be recognized by the letter M on each one. They have been around since the 1940's. One of the most notable marketing slogans is "they melt in your mouth, not in your hand".