How do you tell if an egg is fresh or not?

A popular method for testing if an egg is good is to submerge it in water. If it sinks, it is likely still good. If it floats, it's likely that it has gone bad.

---

To tell if an egg is fresh, place it in a bowl of water. If the egg lays on the bottom, it is fresh. If one end is tipping upwards and slanted, it is less than fresh. An egg that stands on one of its ends is stale, but immediately edible, and an egg that is floating is rotten.