Which breed of dog was bred for chasing rats?

Traditionally, both Pinschers and Schnauzers were bred and trained to catch rats.

---

Dogs of Pinscher and Schnauzer type were traditionally used to catch rats; modern breeds derived from those include: The Affenpinscher. The Austrian Pinscher. And the German Pinscher.