What is in a mood ring?

A mood ring contains a thermochromic element, such as liquid crystal, that changes colors based upon the temperature of the finger of the wearer. It was created in 1975 by two New York inventors, Josh Reynolds and Maris Ambats, who bonded liquid crystals with quartz stones set into rings.