What is the difference between vengeance and revenge?

The word vengeance is universally recognized and used as a noun, meaning that it describes a specific thing. Vengeance is the noun used to describe the action of revenge. On the other hand, revenge can be both a verb and a noun, and derives its meaning depending on which part of speech it takes.