Why did andrew johnson become president?

Andrew Johnson was Vice President at the time of Abraham Lincoln's assassination, and became President immediately after Lincoln's death. Although a Democrat, Johnson was Lincoln's running mate in the 1864 election as part of a "national unity" ticket.