Is santa a spirit?

Bishop Nicholas of Myra, the paytren Saint of Children lived and died in Spain, in the third century AD. Across the world in the centuries since, his legend has developed into the beloved Santa Claus, whose spirit brings gifts to the good children of the world in one night, on Christmas Eve.