Where are the hamstring muscles?

In human anatomy, a hamstring is any one of the three posterior thigh muscles in between the hip and the knee. The hamstrings flex the knee joint and extend the thigh to the backside of the body.

---

The hamstring is actually a group of three muscles, which run along the back of the leg from the hip to the knee.