What was created first brownies or blondies?

According to Kass, " first person to put a recipe for 'brownies' in a cookbook was Fanny Farmer, who adapted her cookie recipe to be baked in a rectangular pan, in the 1896 edition of The Boston Cooking-School Cookbook. But: that recipe contained no chocolate!" Today we call this a Blondie.