How expensive are rubies?

Fine-quality rubies are some of the most expensive gemstones, with record prices over $1,000,000 per carat. However, rubies are also subjected to more treatments than almost any other gem. Color, origin, & treatments have the greatest impact on Ruby value. Clarity, cut, and carat are also important.