How tall is the average man in the eighteen hundreds?

In the early 1800s, the Cheyenne people of North America were among the tallest in the world, with an average male height of about 5 feet 10 inches. For British men, the average height at age 21 rose from 167.05cm (5ft 5in) in 1871-75 to 177.37cm (5ft 10in) in 1971-75.

---

5ft 5in. The average height of men has risen by almost 5in since the mid-19th century. Data was collected on hundreds of thousands of men from 15 European countries. For British men, the average height at age 21 rose from 167.05cm (5ft 5in) in 1871-75 to 177.37cm (5ft 10in) in 1971-75.