How did the pitbull get its name?

Originally named bull terriers, The name "pit Bull" comes from the illegal act of fighting the dogs against each other in an arena called a "pit". This breed is actually smart, gentile and was bred as a companion animal. They are not inherently aggressive, and are violent only if raised that way.

---

A breed of dog that was use In events called ratting, where rats were place in a pits