What does an iron golem do in minecraft?

Iron Golems are sturdy and strong defenders in Minecraft. Built with 4 Iron blocks in a “T” shape, with a carved pumpkin on top, they will spawn and defend the player that created them if anything deals damage to the player nearby. They will also defend villagers if found in a village.