What is the difference between voluntary and involuntary manslaughter?

This will vary, but in general: voluntary manslaughter is engaging in an activity likely to cause serious injury or death and causing someone's death (like beating someone), and involuntary manslaughter is engaging in an activity unlikely to cause serious injury or death and causing someone's death.