How is our skin made?

Your skin is made of 3 layers: The epidermis, the outermost layer of skin, makes a waterproof barrier and creates our skin tone. The dermis, below that, contains tough connective tissue, hair follicles, and sweat glands. The hypodermis, below the dermis, is made of fat and connective tissue.