Who made mac and cheese?

According to multiple urban legends, macaroni and cheese was invented by Thomas Jefferson, who, per Alton Brown of Good Eats; upon failing to receive an Italian pasta-making machine, designed his own machine, made the macaroni, and had the cook put liberal quantities of York cheddar and bake it .