What is the highest number ever existed?

The biggest named number that we know is googolplex, ten to the googol power, or (10)^(10^100). That's written as a one followed by googol zeroes. A Googol is 1 followed by a hundred zeroes. A googolplex is more than the number of grains of sand that could fit in the known universe.