What's the difference between a hotel and a resort?

Hotels' primary purpose is to provide comfortable lodging. A resort is more like a self-contained development that can be a destination in its own right. Most travel needs such as dining, entertainment, shopping, local transportation, and more can be found within the resort's establishment.