What is the heller decision?

It is a 2008 court decision that rules the second amendment is not connected to service in a militia. It also rules that the District of Columbia's handgun ban and requirement that rifles and shotguns be kept unloaded and disassembled or bound by a trigger lock" violated the second amendment.