What does going hard in the paint mean?

To approach a problem, obstacle, or challenge with confidence of success, through a commitment to use all facilities available to one's self to achieve a goal. It comes from basketball, which describes an attempt to score in the area directly under the hoop on a basketball court, or "painted" area.