How do you boil carrots?

To boil carrots, peel them and cut them into slices or small chunks. Cover them with water in a pot. Add a small amount of salt, if desired. Bring them to a boil over medium heat, then reduce the heat to low and simmer them until tender but not too soft or to your preference.