What makes a pineapple pink?

Pink pineapples are bioengineered to contain less of the enzymes that convert pink lycopene (the pigment that gives red color to tomatoes and watermelons) to yellow beta carotene. Since the enzymes are causing an acidic, stinging taste, having less of them makes pink pineapples taste sweeter.