When was the cranberry fruit discovered?

Cranberries have been eaten by the native Americans for at least 12,000 years. The modern cultivation began in 1816, shortly after Captain Henry Hall, a Revolutionary War veteran, of Dennis, Massachusetts, noticed that the wild cranberries in his bogs grew better when sand blew over them.