What was the deadliest thunderstorm?

In 1970, The Bhola cyclone was the deadliest documented storm. It claimed about 550,000 lives in Bangladesh. It occurred in the central part of Bay of Bengal and the storm surge destroyed the islands, farms, villages, and crops causing a heavy damage.