What's the difference between a pepperoncini and a banana pepper?

Banana peppers and pepperoncini peppers differ in three very distinct ways: Heat, Appearance, and Flavor. Banana peppers can have no heat while pepperoncini will always have some. Banana peppers have pointed ends, pepperoncini has rounded ends. Pepperoncini tend to be not as sweet.